Jun 22, 2017

Emma Twigg to defend her title at Koninklijke – Holland Beker

As the regatta is drawing near, so is the excitement building: New Zealand’s Emma Twigg will race at this year’s regatta in an attempt to retain her Ladies’s Trophy. Twigg won the trophy last year over Lisa Scheenaard from the Netherlands, and evergreen Ekatarina Karsten from Belarus. This year, the 2014 World Champion racing for Hawkes Bay RC will have to battle it out against, among others, Inge Janssen and Karolien Florijn.

Twigg is one of the many antipodean (New Zealand and Australian) athletes racing at the Holland Beker, as there are entries from Sydney (UTS Haberfield RC, Sydney RC) and Melbourne (Banks RC, Mercantile RC, Melbourne UBC, and Scotch College). Most crews will race both the Holland Beker and next week’s Henley Royal Regatta during their European campaign.