History Koninklijke – Holland Beker

On August 14, 1886, a group of sporting gentlemen gathered in the Amsterdam with the purpose of establishing the “Committee for the Championships of the Netherlands for gentlemen amateurs in single scull outriggers”. The word “amateur” differentiated men who were paid to row or steer the boat and gentlemen who rowed for pleasure. The Committee allowed those from the gentlemen amateur group to participate in the annual regatta in the men’s single scull.

On September 25, 1886, the first regatta took place. Until 1912 the regatta was known as the International Dutch Open Single Sculling Championships. The regatta maintained wide international renown. In 1931 the regatta was moved from the river Amstel to the temporary race course in Sloten, near Amsterdam, until it found its present site at the brand new Bosbaan in 1937.

During the eighties, the Holland Beker experienced competition from a growing number of international regattas, which made it difficult to attract the top international rowers. After some German victories, several Dutch victories were celebrated in the late eighties and early nineties.

There is a gap in the regatta’s history in the years 2001 and 2002. Only after the refurbishment of the Bosbaan race course in 2003 did the Holland Beker Regatta Association start anew. The organisation now includes the Royal Maas Yacht Club Rotterdam – replacing the Royal Netherlands Yacht Club as the organising group in 1994-, the Amsterdam Student Rowing Club Skøll and the Royal Dutch Rowing Association. In 2004 the name of the regatta changed back to the Koninklijke Holland Beker.

As Holland’s most renowned international regatta, the Koninklijke Holland Beker has hosted the World Rowing Cup III in 2019. Top rowers from countries around the world have travelled to Rotterdam to compete, which made the event a great success.

In 2021 the Koninklijke Holland Beker will be hosted at the Bosbaan in Amsterdam.

Holland Beker winners

2019Sverri NielsenDenmark7.24.512000 (Rotterdam)
2018Ondřej SynekCzech Republic7.41.982000
2017Ondřej SynekCzech Republic6.38.772000
2016Mahé DrysdaleNew Zealand7.02.832000
2015Mahé DrysdaleNew Zealand6.43.942000 (Rotterdam)
2014Roel BraasNetherlands6.44.332000
2013Roel BraasNetherlands6.47.962000
2012Mahé DrysdaleNew Zealand6.42.742000
2011Ondřej SynekCzech Republic6.43.782000
2010Ondřej SynekCzech Republic7.11.392000
2009Mahé DrysdaleNew Zealand6.50.822000
2008Mahé DrysdaleNew Zealand6.43.762000
2007Ondřej SynekCzech Republic6.40.602000
2006Lassi KaronenSweden7.03.522000
2005Ondřej SynekCzech Republic7.11.262000
2004Tim MaeyensBelgium6.48.982000
2003Václav ChalupaCzech Republic7.03.072000
2002Marcel HackerGermany6.48.112000 (Hazewinkel)
2019Emma TwiggNew Zealand8.14.032000 (Rotterdam)
2018Annekatrin ThieleGermany8.45.132000
2017Inge JanssenNetherlands7.26.972000
2016Emma TwiggNew Zealand7.40.252000
2015Ekatarina KarstenBelarus7.25.222000 (Rotterdam)
2014Kimberley CrowAustralia7.24.332000
2013Kimberley CrowAustralia7.19.162000
2012Frida SvenssonSweden7.34.652000
2011Ekatarina KarstenBelarus7.17.282000
2010Ekatarina KarstenBelarus7.31.212000
2009Mirka KnapkovaCzech Republic7.24.512000
2008Ekatarina KarstenBelarus7.09.782000
2007Ekatarina KarstenBelarus7.19.112000
2006Ekatarina KarstenBelarus7.41.352000
2005Ekatarina KarstenBelarus7.52.672000
2004Ekatarina KarstenBelarus7.16.612000
2003Katrin RutschowGermany7.47.152000
2002Ekatarina KarstenBelarus7.31.102000 (Hazewinkel)

The Koninklijke Holland Beker hosted the World Rowing Cup III in 2019. Top rowers from countries around the world have travelled to Rotterdam to compete for the championship title. For more information about World Rowing Cup III, please visit our Rotterdam Regatta website.