Wedstrijd Vereeniging [ENG]

Holland Beker Wedstrijd Vereeniging

The “Holland Beker Wedstrijd Vereeniging” (Holland Beker Competition Club) (“HBWV”) is the association behind the “Holland Beker” and the “Ladies Trophy” and the other often historic silver trophies that are awarded during the Royal Holland Beker Competition. The “Holland Beker” and the “Ladies Trophy” are internationally renowned among scullers.

Every year, finalists of the Olympic Games, World Championships and Dutch top athletes compete for honours in the single scull. Given its place in the international rowing calendar, the competition is often linked in time to “the Diamond Challenge Sculls”, and “The Princess Royal Challenge Cup” at the Henley Royal Regatta and the Rotsee (Lucerne) Regatta.

History of the Club

The traditional single scull competition was first rowed in 1886 as an Open Championship for single sculls. The female counterpart: the Ladies Trophy was included in the program in 1988, twelve years after women’s rowing became Olympic. The international prestige and allure of the “Holland Beker” and “Ladies Trophy” can be read from the historic list of top scullers who have won the cup.

The HBWV (formerly Committee for the Championship of the Netherlands for Lovers of Single Sculling Outriggers) has a history that dates to 1886. On August 14, 1886, a group of sporty gentlemen gathered in Amsterdam to establish the “Committee for the Championships of the Netherlands for men’s amateurs in single scull single outriggers” The word ‘amateur’ distinguished men who were paid to row and gentlemen who rowed for their pleasure. The committee allowed the men’s amateur group to participate in the annual regatta in the single scull. The first regatta took place on September 25, 1886. Until 1912, the regatta was known as the International Dutch Open Single Sculling Championships. The regatta received great international fame. In 1931 the regatta was moved from the river Amstel to the temporary rowing course in Sloten, near Amsterdam, until it found its current location in 1937 at the then brand-new Bosbaan.

The “Holland Beker”

A silver goblet with a sash and buckle was awarded as an exchange prize to the Men’s Elite single scull winner. The list of winners of the Holland Trophy can be found here.

The “Ladies Trophy”

A silver trophy was awarded as an exchange prize to the Women’s Elite single scull winner. The “Ladies Trophy” winners can be found here.

Connecting network

The “Holland Beker” and “Ladies Trophy” is supported by a connecting network of top rowers, coaches, and supporters. The association (HBWV) strives to connect with the still active (international) rowers and encourages them to consider membership. Becoming a member of the HBWV is a way to support both the “Holland Beker” and the “Ladies Trophy” competitions so that this inspiring event is preserved for the future. This is already possible with a membership of at least € 35 per year.

Registration form

Members meet each other during the annual competitions and the member’s meetings. The “Holland Beker” history is recorded in a book worth reading entitled: Holland Beker 1886-2011. New members receive the book as a welcome gift at their first membership meeting.

Social media

Follow us on Linkedin, Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, or YouTube.


Composition of the board of the Holland Beker Wedstrijd Vereniging (HBWV) 2022-2023

  • Jan van der Bij, chairman
  • Marcel Revet, secretary
  • Thomas Mojet, treasurer
  • Johan ten Berg, board member
  • Laurens van Campen, board member
  • Pancras C.W. Hogendoorn, board member (recruitment and acquisition)

Members’ Meeting

The members’ meeting is scheduled for mid-June 2023. You will receive the invitation for the meeting by email and the agenda can be downloaded here in due course.

Chamber of Commerce no: 40531874

IBAN: NL83INGB0001794384, in the name of Holland Beker Wedstrijdvereniging

Contact details: