Jun 24, 2017

The Aegon – Koninklijke Holland Beker kicks off at a windy Bosbaan

Fast conditions guaranteed this morning as rowers at the 2017 Aegon Koninklijke – Holland Beker will enjoy a strong tailwind over the course. In short, this is who you should watch this morning as the heats kick off.

Who to watch

From 9 am, we can enjoy the races of the U23 Women’s coxless four. With entries from Boston, Czech Republic, as well as a strong crew from Nereus, there will be some class rowing on display. Shortly thereafter, from 9:30 am, the Men’s pair heats will take place. Only 5 of the 7 crews will progress to the final, and with entries such as the Dutch U23 pair, and the Australian Olympic silver medallists Josh Booth and Josh Dunkley-Smith, everyone will have to go flat out to secure a spot in the final. The Men’s double sculls boasts a strong and competitive field as well, featuring the Dutch National Lightweight double, British Olympians Angus Groome and Graem Thomas, and Dutch World Cup participants Gerard van der Velde and Vincent Klaassens among others.

The Men’s coxed four, usually a less popular boat class on the international stage, seems to make its revival at the Aegon KHB. Twelve crews will line up on the start from 9:40 am, including several Henley participants such as Laga and Syndey RC. The same goes for the Men’s Intermediate Eights, starting from 10:40 am, which features Henley Temple contender Njord and a fast Proteus crew.

From 11 am until the Lunch break, it’s time for the single sculls. First off will be the juniors, followed by the heats of the Ladies’ Trophy at 11:30 am and the heats of the Holland Beker from 11:48 am. The first three finishers of every heat in the Ladies’ Trophy will progress to the semi-finals. In contrast, only the winners of the Holland Beker heats will directly qualify for the semi-finals. All others will have to race the repechage this afternoon. This will make for some tight racing this morning, especially in heat 4 where German scullers Hans Gruhne and Karl Schulze will go head to head.

A livestream will be online from 11 am. A full list of entries, as well as all results, can be found here. Information for spectators can be found via this link.